Introduction to the chakras

Posted on May 20, 2010 in Healing

Ancient Indian traditions teach about seven energy centres within the subtle body, which interpenetrates the physical body. The subtle body is the non-physical psychic body that is superimposed on our physical bodies. These energy centres, called chakras, are seen as spinning discs which act as generators, receiving, assimilating and transmitting life energy into the body from external sources (such as the environment, and universal, multidimensional sources).

The chakras are located along the spinal cord, moving and distributing energy through the body at every level, from the sublimely spiritual to the physically cellular. Each chakra interacts with the others so an effect or change in one affects the way the others work. When the chakras are working properly, the individual feels balanced and has a sense of well-being. If a chakra is blocked or stressed, this affects the other chakras which, if left untreated, can lead to physical illness or emotional upset.

The chakra system is at the heart of a holistic approach to health, where a person’s spiritual, mental and emotional state is considered just as important as – in fact, is inseparable from – the physical. Each chakra has particular attributes and activities associated with it, described below.

Location: Perineum
Element: Earth
Colour: Red
Function: Survival, grounding, self-preservation
Glands: Adrenal
Body areas: Legs, feet, bones, large intestine
Malfunction: Obesity, anorexia, sciatica, constipation

Location: Sacrum
Element: Water
Colour: Orange
Function: Desire, sexuality, self-gratification
Glands: Gonads
Body areas: Womb, genitals, kidney, bladder, lower back
Malfunction: Sexual problems, urinary trouble

Solar plexus
Location: Solar plexus
Element: Fire
Colour: Yellow
Function: Will, power, self-definition
Glands: Pancreas, adrenals
Body areas: Digestive system, liver, gall bladder
Malfunction: Digestive problems, chronic fatigue, hypertension

Location: Heart
Element: Air
Colour: Green (and pink)
Function: Love, peace, self-acceptance
Glands: Thymus
Body areas: Lungs, heart, circulatory system, arms, hands
Malfunction: Asthma, coronary disease, lung disease

Location: Throat
Element: Sound, ether
Colour: Blue
Function: Communication, creativity, self-expression
Glands: Thyroid
Body areas: Throat, ears, mouth, shoulders, neck
Malfunction: Sore throats, neck and shoulder pain, thyroid troubles

Location: Brow
Element: Light
Colour: Indigo
Function: Intuition, imagination, self-reflection
Glands: Pineal
Body areas: Eyes, base of skull, brow
Malfunction: Vision problems, headaches, nightmares

Location: Top of head
Element: Thought
Colour: Violet (white)
Function: Understanding, bliss, self-knowledge
Glands: Pituitary
Body areas: Central nervous system, cerebral cortex
Malfunction: Depression, alienation, confusion

For a detailed explanation and exploration of the chakra system, I recommend reading the excellent Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith.

The following two tabs change content below.

Semele Xerri

© Semele Xerri is a psychic intuitive healer, animal communicator, and Reiki Master Teacher. To find out more about her and her services, go to her Work with me page.

Latest posts by Semele Xerri (see all)